Pharmacy Universities In South Africa

If you’re looking to study pharmacy in South Africa, there are a number of universities that offer programs. The following are some of the top universities for people who want to become pharmacists:

Pharmacy Universities In South Africa

University of Cape Town

The University of Cape Town (UCT), founded in 1829, is one of the oldest universities in South Africa. With a student population of over 30,000 and a pharmacy school that was established in 1907, UCT has earned itself a good reputation as an academic institution.

The university is located on a suburban-looking campus with several buildings set around lawns and gardens. It also has its own medical center within walking distance from campus which can be useful for students who have been prescribed medication during their studies.

The faculty at UCT are known for their research output and high quality publications which makes them highly reputable academically too.

University of Pretoria

The University of Pretoria is the largest and most diverse university in South Africa. The University has over 30 000 students from all walks of life, who are drawn by its comprehensive range of undergraduate and postgraduate courses. The UoP also offers many research opportunities for those wishing to make a career as a researcher.

University of the Free State

University of the Free State is a public university located in Bloemfontein, South Africa.

The university was founded in 1904 as part of the struggle against racial discrimination and segregation in South Africa.

It has a total of 9 faculties and 2 schools: Faculty of Business Economics; Faculty of Education; School for Languages, Literatures and Cultures; School of Economic Sciences; School of Journalism and Media Studies; School of Law; Faculty of Arts, Culture and Religion; Faculty Health Sciences (Health Sciences Campus); Faculty Humanities (Humanities Campus).

The university has six campuses: North campus – Bloemfontein campus – Orange Farm campus – Groenfontein campus – Trompsburg campus

Stellenbosch University

Stellenbosch University (SU) is a public research university situated in Stellenbosch, South Africa. It is the oldest Afrikaans-medium university in the country and one of three traditional universities in South Africa, alongside the University of Cape Town and the University of Pretoria. Stellenbosch University was originally established as Rhenish Girls High School, an institution for girls from Rhenish-Hessian families who were under threat by the Revolutionswille movement that swept Europe at that time. The school was renamed Universiteitskollege for men in 1918 after it became a constituent college of Stellenbosch Gymnasium when it was decided that secondary education should be offered exclusively to women; this happened because many parents feared their daughters would become corrupted by attending a mixed school where boys would be present.

The university offers programmes such as Master’s Degrees(Common Law), Bachelors Degrees(Bachelor of Laws), Diplomas – Pharmacy Degree (Bachelors Of Pharmacy), Diplomas – Engineering Degree (Bachelors Of Engineering), Diplomas – Accounting Degree (Bachelors Of Accounting).

University of the Witwatersrand

The Witwatersrand University is a public research university in Johannesburg, South Africa. It was established in 1896 as the South African School of Mines. In 1904 it became the Transvaal Technical Institute and in 1930, the University of the Witwatersrand.


As you can see from the above list, there are many great universities in South Africa that offer pharmacy degrees. If you’re looking for a career in this field, then these schools will give students everything they need to succeed. This includes an excellent infrastructure that includes experienced teachers and facilities such as laboratories where students can practice their skills. These institutions also provide guidance on how best to enter the industry once graduates complete their studies successfully.”

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!