List Of Universities In South Africa

South Africa is a country with a high number of universities, both public and private. The list below outlines the most important ones in South Africa:

List Of Universities In South Africa

1. The University of Pretoria

The University of Pretoria (Tuks) is a multi-campus public research university in Pretoria, South Africa. It is the second largest university in South Africa by student enrollment, as well as the largest Afrikaans-speaking university in the country.

2. Durban University of Technology

The Durban University of Technology (DUT) is a multi-campus university in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. As of 2015, it has the largest student population of any higher education institution in the province. The university was established as a technical college in 1948 and received its current name in 2002.

It has six campuses across KwaZulu-Natal: two situated at Maphumulo, one each at Ladysmith and Newcastle and one each at Mtubatuba and Ixopo.

In addition to these campuses there is an offsite regional centre located in Pietermaritzburg which provides services to students from rural areas not able to attend classes on campus or who require access courses such as engineering or construction trades training that are offered by DUT’s Department of Workforce Development through distance learning programmes provided via both face-to-face training workshops delivered by industry leaders within various sectors as well as online tutorials available for self-paced study using materials developed by qualified instructors within those industries themselves (i..e engineers teaching engineering).

3. University of South Africa

This university was founded in 1918 and is the largest university in South Africa, as well as the largest by number of students, academic staff and academic programmes offered. It has more than 200 000 students from all over the world. The university offers more than 400 undergraduate degree programmes and 250 postgraduate degrees which are taught across eight campuses. The university has a large international community with approximately 20% of its student body coming from outside South Africa.

4. North-West University

North-West University (NWU) is a public university with its main campus in Mafikeng, North West Province, South Africa. It has satellite campuses in Mahikeng, Lichtenburg and Thabo Mbeki and outreach centres in Pampierstad and Thohoyandou. The NWU was established on 1 January 1986 as an amalgamation of three former institutions: Potchefstroom University for Christian Higher Education (founded 1869), Inland Hill University College (founded 1981) and Technikon Natal (1974).

The university has over 50 000 students across all campuses and research facilities; it offers more than 1000 academic programmes ranging from Undergraduate Studies to PhDs through nine faculties: Arts and Social Sciences; Commerce & Management Science; Education; Engineering & Physical Sciences; Health Sciences; Law & Criminology; Natural Resources Management/Environmental Science/Agricultural Sciences/Livestock Production Systems at the VetMasters Campus at Potchefstroom campus only(opened 2015); Pharmacy Faculty located at Tlokwe Campus(opened 2015); Medicine located at Mahikeng Campus only(opened 2011).

5. University of Johannesburg

The University of Johannesburg was established in 2005 and is the largest and most diverse university in South Africa. It has 17 campuses across the country, including several satellite campuses and centres. The institution offers more than 300 undergraduate and postgraduate programmes, as well as research opportunities for students interested in pursuing a PhD.

The university has more than 40,000 students from over 130 different countries around the world who are enrolled at its 17 different campuses. It also employs more than 1,000 academic staff members to deliver quality education to its student body. The university is known for its commitment to providing affordable higher education through various scholarship schemes such as bursaries or tuition fee waivers for disadvantaged groups such as people with disabilities or first-generation learners who may not be able

6. Tshwane University of Technology

TUT is a university based in the capital of South Africa, Pretoria. It has two campuses: one in Pretoria and another in the North West province.

7. University of Kwazulu Natal

University of Kwazulu Natal is an institution of higher education situated in Durban, South Africa. It was formed in 2004 by the merger of two older institutions, the University of Natal and the University of Durban-Westville.

The combined university has eleven faculties offering undergraduate degrees as well as postgraduate programmes and research opportunities in disciplines such as law, business management and education.


I hope this list of South African universities will help you find the right one for you and your family. If there are any other universities that I missed, please let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *