Free Online Application Universities In South Africa

While most people are familiar with the top universities in South Africa, there are many other institutions of higher education that offer a wide range of courses and degrees. This article will provide an overview of some lesser-known schools that provide students with excellent opportunities for growth both academically and personally.

Free Online Application Universities In South Africa

1. Nelson Mandela University

The Nelson Mandela University (NMMU) is a public university in Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa. It was established in 2004 as the result of merger between three institutions: Fort Hare University, Alice Campus of Vista University and the former Port Elizabeth Technikon. The main campus of NMMU is located in Bela-Bela and Mthatha.

2. Vaal University of Technology

Vaal University of Technology is a public university in South Africa. It was established in 1960 and has been operating since then. The institution is one of the largest in the country with over 30 000 students studying at its campuses. The university offers courses at the undergraduate level, as well as postgraduate programs. Vaal University of Technology has grown to become an institution known for its excellent research work in various fields of study such as engineering and technology, science, commerce, humanities and law.

3. University of Venda

4. Durban University of Technology

Durban University of Technology (DUT) is a public university situated in the city of Durban, South Africa. It was formed on 1 January 2004 when two separate institutions –the Durban Institute of Technology and the Technikon Natal – were merged. The university has a strong focus on engineering and technology. It has a total population of over 35,000 students as well as 5 campuses across the city:

  • Westville Campus
  • Umhlanga Campus
  • Phoenix Campus
  • Indwe Campus (formerly known as Woodlands)
  • Auwal Campus

5. Sol Plaatje University, Kimberley, Noord Kaap

Sol Plaatje University is a university in Kimberley, Northern Cape, South Africa. It was founded as a constituent college of the University of South Africa (Unisa) in 1963; Unisa became an independent institution of higher learning in 1994. The name was changed to Sol Plaatje University on 1 January 2005 to reflect its autonomy and independence from Unisa.

The university offers certificate, diploma and degree programmes at various levels including undergraduate degrees, postgraduate degrees and doctorates through three faculties: Commerce; Education; Engineering and Technology; Law; Natural Sciences & Mathematics; Social Sciences & Humanities.

6. Walter Sisulu University, Mthatha, Eastern Cape

The Walter Sisulu University is a public university in South Africa located in the Eastern Cape province. It was established in 2005 and has its main campus at Mthatha.

7. Mangosuthu University of Technology in Durban, KwaZulu-Natal

Mangosuthu University of Technology in Durban, KwaZulu-Natal is a public university in Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. Founded in 1970 as the University College of Durban-Westville (UCDW), it became a fully fledged university after the dissolution of apartheid in 1994. It was renamed the Mangosuthu Technological University on 1 January 2005 by former president Thabo Mbeki after his mother, Zincile Nomzamo Winifred Madikizela-Mandela who had been called “the mother of democracy” for her role as an anti-apartheid activist and politician. The name change took effect from 1 February 2005 with all campuses now bearing this title.

8. Central University of Technology, Free State (CUT) in Bloemfontein

Central University of Technology, Free State (CUT) is an open multi-campus university with campuses in Bloemfontein and the surrounding areas. The curriculum is divided into three categories: Arts and Social Sciences; Engineering and Technology; and Health Sciences. CUT offers degree programmes at undergraduate level with a wide range of subject combinations to choose from including Engineering, Architecture, Information Technology, Accounting & Finance Management Studies as well as Social Work & Psychology studies.

The university offers its students a unique opportunity to study abroad through its International Student Exchange Programme (ISEP). Students may also participate in exchange programs that include short courses taught by visiting lecturers from different countries around the world such as Canada or Germany.


Now that you’ve learned about the ways in which South Africa offers students an education like no other, it’s time for you to apply for a program. If you have any questions about this process or would like some help getting started, we encourage you to contact us and begin building your future today!

We hope you’re inspired to apply to one of these great universities in South Africa. Remember that it’s never too late to start!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *