Colleges That Offer Teaching Courses In South Africa (2024)

Teaching is an incredibly rewarding career, but it’s also one that requires a lot of training.

If you’re looking to become a teacher in South Africa, there are a number of colleges and universities that offer the education courses necessary to get started on your new career path. Here are some of them:

Colleges That Offer Teaching Courses In South Africa

The NQF Level 6 Certificate in Further Education and Training Teaching is a qualification that is aimed at teaching learners in the Further Education and Training (FET) sector. This qualification is equivalent to level 7 on the National Qualifications Framework (NQF).

The course focuses on the development of skills and knowledge in teaching. It is designed to equip you with the skills and knowledge to become a teacher in a further education and training (FET) institution, including mainstream secondary schools.

In addition to gaining theoretical foundations, you will be taught how to apply your learning practically as well as develop pedagogical ability through practical classroom observation. This will ensure that when you graduate from this course, you are competent enough to teach effectively without supervision or guidance from others

The NQF Level 7 Diploma in Further Education and Training Teaching is a post-graduate qualification that prepares you to teach at tertiary level. The course consists of both theory and practice, including workshops and seminars. After the first year, you will be placed in a teaching environment where you will gain practical experience as part of your studies.

The course is offered by the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA).

NQF Level 7 Advanced Diploma.

The NQF Level 7 Advanced Diploma in Further Education and Training Teaching is a post-graduate teaching qualification. This qualification requires you to have at least 5 years’ teaching experience, 1 year of which must be at NQF Level 7. You must also have 2 years of teaching experience at NQF Level 6, and 3 years’ teaching experience at NQF Level 5.

Professional Development Programs for Educators.

A professional development program for educators will provide you with the skills and knowledge you need to stay on top of the latest teaching methods.

These programs can be general or specific, depending on where your interests lie. For example, they may focus on the latest pedagogical theories and their implications for practice in classrooms, or they could be more formalised by providing specific training and certification in certain subject areas.

You can enrol in a university degree program to gain expertise in one area, such as teaching English language learners or special education classes. The most reputable universities have these types of programs available; however, if you are looking only for basic training then there are many other options available too!

A Diploma in Education (Further Education and training).

These courses are offered at most colleges. They can be taken as full-time or part-time study, depending on your availability and preferred learning schedule. They are available at various levels, including diplomas and certificates. Many institutions offer these courses as well as universities.

There is a wide range of institutions that offer teaching courses in South Africa: public sector; private sector; higher education institutions; vocational training institutes; community colleges; religious colleges such as Bible Colleges and Islamic Colleges etc.

They are taught across all provinces except for Limpopo province where there is no provision for these type of qualifications so you will need to find alternative ways where someone could help you get into teacher training course online or offline but this will still cost money so make sure you do some research first before starting any course or signing up with any institution that offers online teaching diploma course because some might be scams who only want your money but will never give anything back once they have it from you.

National Certificate (Vocational).

The National Certificate (Vocational) is a short-term, qualification that can be completed in as little as six months. It is a practical qualification based on work experience and classroom learning. The course covers topics such as time management, communication skills, teamwork and problem solving.

Once you have completed your studies you will be qualified to take up employment within your chosen field of study. You will also be qualified to apply for entry into further qualifications such as diplomas or degrees at university level.

The entry requirements for this course include:

  • A minimum age of 18 years old;
  • Formal proof that you are able to read English at an average level (Level 4); This can be done by completing an NSC exam or through verification by a school principal;
  • Formal proof that you have worked in the relevant field for a period of at least 12 months prior to enrolling in the course; If this has not been possible then alternative documentation may need to be provided depending on the nature of your previous employment;

The duration of this course is approximately 150 hours over 3 terms with each term being approximately 50 hours long

The National Certificate in Occupationally Directed Education, Training and Development Practices is a nationally recognised qualification that prepares you to work as an educator in the field of education. These qualifications are NQF Level 4, 5 or 6.

There are three main streams:

  • Teaching & Learning (NQF Level 4) – This stream focuses on teaching and learning processes in various educational settings. It also includes assessment principles as well as classroom management skills. It’s ideal for teachers who want to improve their skills or change careers into teaching in secondary schools or tertiary institutions such as colleges or universities.
  • Classroom Management (NQF Level 4) – This stream focuses on classroom behaviour management techniques, which helps educators manage students’ behaviour across different settings such as classrooms, workshops and laboratories among others so that they can achieve their learning outcomes within acceptable time frames while maintaining good relationships with everyone involved including parents/guardians when applicable!
  • Curriculum & Assessment Practices (NQF Level 5) – This stream focuses on curriculum design principles from inception through implementation up until evaluation stages; curriculum evaluation methods used by schools today; selection criteria for resources based on intended outcomes etcetera.

National Higher Certificate (Vocational).

The National Higher Certificate is a qualification that is awarded to learners who have completed a nationally recognised programme. The Higher Certificate is awarded by a National Qualifications Framework (NQF) accredited institution, at the same level as a National Diploma.

The qualification can be gained through various options such as:

  • A full-time study programme of at least two years or 36 months in duration and 80 000 hours’ worth of learning time, excluding any time spent on internships.
  • A part-time study programme lasting three years or 54 months in duration and 40 500 hours’ worth of learning time, excluding any time spent on internships.



If you’re interested in teaching, we hope you found this article helpful. It can be challenging to make a career change, but with the right preparation and perseverance you can succeed! Teaching is a rewarding career path that will give back to society by helping others learn new skills and knowledge.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *